The Art of Waiting…

In this new age, we live life on the fast lane. Fast money! Fast fame! Fast cars! Fast marriage! Fast success!

When all these things don’t come as fast as we want, we begin to question our spirituality. In fact, that is to put it mildly, we actually begin to question God (with his own words). Didn’t you say, “I shall be the first and not the last”, and that “no good thing will you withold from me if I walk uprightly”, you even said in Phillipians 4:19 “But my God shall supply all my needs according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

But somewhere within all these promises and blessings, there is a need to develop the art of Waiting on God. The Wait is that time the Lord presses the pause button on your fast track (yeah, like a music track), and gives you the opportunity to set your priorities right by focusing on him. In our weaknesses he is made strong – and the Wait suddenly makes you realize you are not Superman or Superwoman (contrary to what Alicia Keys thinks lol) after all.

Bucknell says, “it is at this point that our heart becomes desperate, our faith is proved and our hope is purified…”

WAEC

WAEC

One thing I know for sure is that the Waiting period is never easy. Ask a woman who has been married 14 years with no issue, a 45 year old single and never been married woman, a 50 year old man whose business suddenly collapses and has to start from the scratch, a 15 year old high school whiz-kid who had to write jamb and Waec 7 times and ended up getting into Uni @ 22…  all manner of trials. Yet, in all these, our faith in God must stand strong, and we must wait!

As a kid, I remember having to WAIT for loads of things. Iwould ask my  ask my dad to buy me a tri-cycle and he would say, go and pray that God will provide for me to buy it. I knew the money was there (well because dad went to work every morning and returned pretty late, so money had to come in right?). Everytime I asked him, he would say, “have you prayed?” This continued until I got tired of asking. One day, he told me to go bring his brief-case from the car boot and there was my tri-cycle in Tear-Rubber (brand new) condition. My excitement was overboard.

In this period of my ‘tricycle wait’,  I wasn’t sulking, disobeying or disregarding my father, because I knew he could buy it. He is my dad, he loves me, he knows I want this. This is the same attitude God requires from us. Sometimes during our wait, we speak so rudely to God in thoughts and actions (not just words) that display neither a seed nor a fruit, but a forest of doubt in His name. We don’t call God, Father for fun, he really is our Father and he will meet our needs.

One last thing I would like to draw out of my example,  is the period when my father sent me to the boot to get his brief-case. Imagine if I had disobeyed. That tri-cycle would probably have been silently returned to the manufacturers before I had the chance to see it, talk more of riding it. My point is, towards the end of our Wait, God may drop one final little test – you’ve held out this long, let’s see how far you can go. Remember Job? He may have even bragged about you to the host of hell. Yeah, my God is cool like that. Personally, I have this theory that when the storm rages the hardest, it id desperate ‘coz the morning is just round the corner.

How are you handling your period of Waiting?

Cast not away therefore your confidence, which hath great recompence of reward. The eyes of all wait upon thee; and thou givest them their meet in due season. Thou openest thine hand, and satisfiest the desire of every living thing.

Psalm 145: 15, 16

 

This is Gospel Metropolitan!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Art of Waiting…

  1. wandy says:

    well said my dear,
    waiting is part of the process.
    everybody loves gold but imagine how many times its been refined to become so pure.
    imagine a building under construction, the time it is taking, and the really awful look but when it is completed and all furnished, everyone is happy.
    we like the finished product dont wanna go through the process.
    some people like quick and sharp sharp answers, quick turn-around-time, but it may not be the best.
    the waiting period can be very very frustrating- depending on the gravity of the issue but like the saying goes, weeping may endure for the night……, the is a light at the end of the tunnel( watch out for on-cominig trains..) lol, also when itsd darkest, thats when the morning breaks. so smile u r not alone.
    cheers

Leave a Reply

