Anger & Words of Wisdom

Compliments of the season to you.

I don’t know any other of God’s creation that can experience a flood of different emotions all in a few moments. 1 minute you are in love, the next you are not, the next day you are happy, the following day you are sad, 2 days after you are moody, gloomy and indifferent, an hour later you are ecstatic and over the moon.

One emotion I will like to focus on today however, is ANGER.

A book of the Bible that is very adept at listing the characteristics of a fool is the book of Proverbs. I tell you, if you read that book from top to bottom and manage to escape being called a fool – u are most likely an alien in human skin 🙂

On a serious note, anger is an issue I have been very concerned about lately because of its destructive nature to relationships (family, marriages, friendships) and ultimately destiny. It may seem like a small issue to be hot-tempered for instance, but you never know what your inability to keep your emotions in check has robbed you of.

Proverbs 29:11 : “Fools vent their anger, but the wise quietly hold it back”

Proverbs 29:22: “An angry person starts fights; a hot-tempered person commits all kinds of sin.”

Take a glass of water and drink to those first 2 verses above.

In the first verse, the Bible is inadvertently saying that if you hold back on your anger, you are wise – you are displaying wisdom. Suffice it to say that this is not always the easiest thing to do when you are in the face of an anger-stimulating situation.

It is human nature to want to rave and rant, because by some ‘twisted’ kind of thinking, we are convinced one will feel better after one lets it out in that manner. But the sad truth is that, you usually end up feeling like a fool – HEllo – the Bible told you so! (i have experienced this).

As Christians, anger is an emotion that calls for control, just like the Bible urges us to control our needs/cravings in other areas of lives – including our love for food.

In terms of making one another angry, Proverbs also has the blue print on how to avoid that, or at least try.

Proverbs 15: 1 “A gentle answer deflects angers, but harsh words make tempers flare.”

I have personally applied this and it works. From a logical point of view, if someone comes at you ranting and screaming, and you answer gently and calmly, only a mad man will keep shouting. YOUR SILENT ATTITUDE IMMEDIATELY AMPLIFIES HIS OR HER ‘folly’ AND INSTANTLY AWARDS YOU A PRIZE OF DISTINCTION IN WISDOM.

To maintain a quiet spirit at that second is not the easiest thing to do, but if we want to be wise, I suggest we ask for grace and start to practice that in this coming new year. Know that the more you prosper and approach where God is taking to you, the harder the devil battles against your destiny. And little things like unbridled anger is unfortunately strong and heady enough to try to bring one down.

Let me share a little experience with you. I was to have a skype job interview that  had been scheduled for 12 noon. I had set up, dressed up and was waiting earnestly. They called and told me the panel was with another interviewee, I should please bear with them. Finally at almost 2.30pm I was contacted and we were testing the mics and all to see if they were all properly set. I thought we were going to start straight-away, only to be told to hang on for a few more minutes. By this time I was already feeling a bit frustrated within me . I thought I had turned off the mic, so I turned to talk to my friend in whose house I was in. We had hearty jokes about the organization interviewing me, I told her I was feeling pressed for the ladies now that the time had come etc. Never for once did I tell her stuff like “how can these people be keeping me waiting like this, after 3 whole hours, who do they think they are…”

To cut a long story short, my mic was not off and the entire panel hear d every word I said and joked with me about it at the start of the interview. Imagine if the wrong words had fallen off my mouth all in the display of anger. Listen, ” fools vent their anger, but the wise quietly hold it back.”

On an end note, the Bible says is Proverbs 25:28, “a person without self-control is like a city with broken down walls”. Another translation says, “If you cannot control your anger, you are as helpless as a city without walls, open to attack.”

It goes without saying that no matter how angry we get while living in this world, the Bible explicitly asks us not to let the sun go down on our anger.

Anger is human nature, but subject it to the control of the Holy Spirit and be wise. Just like I need this post, I am sure someone reading this does too.

Merry christmas.


4 thoughts on “Anger & Words of Wisdom

  1. Bayo says:

    I quite agree with most of ur thoughts here. Haven read the book of Proverbs over and over, I think every one on this planet should measure him/her self by it. Needless to say that anytime I open the pages of proverbs I find a foolish thing or act I need to do away with. It speak to me anew.
    However, not letting your anger out can equally be counterproductive. I think who you vent your anger on determines what you get out of the challanging situation; On Man, u create a new problem or deepen the existing one; On God, you get a fresh perspective in tackling the problem or situation. For me, I choose the latter. I pour out all the pent up anger in prayers to God. Before you know it, I feel an inner peace with myself and with the person.
    This, I feel, is the first step before opening the mouth to say soothing words.

  2. kayode2life says:

    @ Tomy, this article is what reading thanks for sharing. Its a wonderful insight into anger management control. what one has been building in years due to uncontrolled anger it can come down in JuSt OnE SeCoNd. its important when pressed to the edge by ANGER instead of unleashing the bomb of anger in us to them just keep quit and let it BURN OFF. cos we dont know if that may be what the employer was waiting to see but was disappointed.

  3. Hubert says:

    “Anger & Words of Wisdom | G.M” Window Treatments For Sliding Glass Doors really got me addicted on ur
    site! I actuallywill wind up being back again significantly more frequently.
    Thanks ,Lela

Leave a Reply

